ANIPLUS Asia to simulcast “Ensemble Stars!” anime series this Summer 2019

The upcoming music idol anime series is set to premiere on Japanese television this July 7.

Southeast Asian anime channel ANIPLUS Asia has announced on Friday that they will air the upcoming music idol anime series Ensemble Stars! on a simulcast basis this Summer 2019 season.

The channel has not announced its specific premiere date and time, but the upcoming show will premiere in Japan on Sunday, July 7, at 10:30pm JST.



© Happy Elements K.K. / “Ensamble Stars!” Anime Production Committee

Ensemble Stars! is an upcoming anime series, which is a part of a multimedia franchise project created by the video game company Happy Elements.

The project started with the launch of its mobile card-collecting game on Android and iOS smartphone devices in 2015, which was followed by a stage play adaptation produced by Marvelous!, first ran the following year.

The story will take place in an private boys’ idol-training school with a history of creating great talents in the show-business, and the protagonist is the lone female student who transferred in the school due to special circumstances.


The upcoming anime series will be directed by Masakazu Hishida, who worked in several anime adaptations of Pretty Rhythm franchise, under the pen name “Junpaku Yagurashita”, with JoJo’s Bizarre Adventures episode director Yasufumi Soejima as its series director.

Akira, who created the Kyoran Kazoku Nikki light novel series, will handle the series composition, while the team of Eri Nagata, Haruko Iizuka and Tomoyuki Shitaya will handle character designs, which will be produced by David’s Productions.

Tatsuya Kato, who worked on several popular anime shows like Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma, Free! Iwatobi Swim Park and Love Live! Sunshine!!, will handle the upcoming anime’s music, and Satoru Kuwabara will be the show’s music producer.

The smartphone game featured eight different idol units, which are composed of over 40 voice actors, including Tetsuya Kakihara (as Subaru Akehoshi), Showtaro Morikubo (as Makoto Yuuki), Tomoaki Maeno (as Hokuto Hidaka) and Yuki Kaji (as Mao Isara).


Ensemble Stars! will be ANIPLUS Asia’s second simulcast title for the Summer 2019 season, following the announcement of the upcoming sci-fi anime series Fire Force.

More simulcast anime titles are expected to be announced in the coming days.


ANIPLUS Asia is available in the Philippines on SKYcable Channel 139 in Metro Manila, CAMANAVA, Rizal, Bulacan and Laguna, G Sat Channel 66 in High Definition, and in select provincial cable providers around the country.

For more details on the channel, please visit