Japanese talent agency Space Craft Produce has announced through their official website on Wednesday that the All-female singing group Kalafina is set to disband.

The announcement has stated that the popular music group has not been active since the group’s founder and composer Yuki Kajura has left the agency in February last year, which was then followed by some of its members a couple of weeks later.

The agency explained that they had examined all possibilities, including possible resumption of activities, but determined that it would be difficult to resume the group’s activities and decided to officially disband Kalafina.


Kalafina was an all-female singing group formed by composer Yuki Kajura in 2007, mainly to perform theme music for the seven-part anime film series The Garden of Sinners (Kara no Kyokai).

The group is initially composed of Wakana Otaki and Keiko Kubota, who were a part of Kajura’s FictionJunction project. Maya Toyoshima and Hikaru Masai became a part of the group a year later.

After that, they have performed several themes for anime series, including “Lacrimossa” for Black Butler, “Magia” for Puella Magi Madoka Magica, “Heavenly Blue” for Aldnoah.Zero, “Believe” for Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works, and “One Light” for The Heroic Legend of Arslan.

The song “Hyakka Ryouran”, which was used as the ending theme song for the anime series Katsugeki Touken Ranbu, was the group’s last single, released in 2017. The group had released a total of six (6) studio albums and 22 singles.


After Kajura left Space Craft Produce in 2018, which effectively means she is also leaving the group, the talent agency announced that Kalafina will continue working in the agency.

But the exodus was followed by Keiko Kubota in April, and followed by Hikaru Masai in October. Wakana Ootaki had announced her solo career last August, which set to have her debut next year. Maya Toyoshima left the group in 2009.